Research Activity

  • Tony Oldham (toldham@aut.ac.nz) and Sarah-Kate Millar (skmillar@aut.ac.nz). A SPRINZ and Rowing New Zealand project around coordinative couplings in Olympic Rowing. To date it has investigated how high performance rowers coordinate their actions with each other and the boat along with coach/athlete knowledge related to these tasks. The project has delivered important practical information for New Zealand Rowing as well as with four or five potential peer-review publications.  The broad theoretical contribution of this project revolves around organic oscillatory couplings under asymmetric and environmentally driven conditions. A sports coaching project.
  • Kirsten Spencer (kspencer@aut.ac.nz) and Chris Whatman (cwhatman@aut.ac.nz). A Preliminary Investigation of High Risk Movement in Secondary Schools Netball. A Sports Performance Analysis project.
  • Kirsten Spencer (kspencer@aut.ac.nz), Chris Whatman (cwhatman@aut.ac.nz) and Duncan Reid (dreid@aut.ac.nz). Secondary School Netballers, are they moving to the right beat? A Sports Performance Analysis project. 
  • Simon Walters (swalters@aut.ac.nz), and Chris Whatman (cwhatman@aut.ac.nz). Coach and player attitudes to sports injuries. A sports coaching project