The International Society of Biomechanics in Sport recognizes scientific achievement and honours those who have made outstanding contributions to the field of Sport & Exercise Biomechanics by awarding the Geoffrey Dyson Award, the Hans Gros Emerging Researcher Award and the New Investigator Award. The Society also encourage undergraduate and postgraduate students to submit and present their research as first author during the annual conference by offering Student Travel Grants.

Geoffrey Dyson Award

The Geoffrey Dyson Award of the International Society of Biomechanics in Sports recognizes sport scientists who, throughout their professional careers, bridge the gap between biomechanics research and practice in sport. It is the most prestigious award of ISBS because it is a recognition of individuals who embody and carry out the primary purposes of the Society. The recipient of the Geoffrey Dyson Award delivers a keynote lecture on the opening night of the ISBS annual conference.

This year’s recipient of the Geoffrey Dyson Award is Professor Hermann Schwameder, from the University of Salzburg. Please visit our Key Speakers page for information on his keynote, to be held on Monday 10th September 2018.

Hans Gros Emerging Researcher Award

The Hans Gros Emerging Researcher Award recognizes excellence in early career research. This prestigious award is given annually to an individual who has excelled in their early research career (2-5 years) and has embodied the ISBS philosophy of applied science and 'bridging the gap'. The winner is invited to present his/her research in a keynote lecture at the ISBS annual conference.

This year's recipient of the Hans Gros Emerging Research Award is Dr Steffen Willwacher. Read about Steffen and his keynote on our Key speakers page.

New Investigator Award

The purpose of the New Investigator Award (NIA) is to recognize new researchers and to encourage them to become productive members of ISBS by expanding the knowledge base of sports biomechanics through study and dissemination of information.

All student members of ISBS, and full members who, at the time of the annual conference, have graduated with their terminal degree (master's or doctoral) within the past two years, are eligible for consideration. Candidates can enter one paper in the competition (oral or poster category), must be the first author of the paper submitted and accepted for presentation at the annual ISBS conference. Candidates must also present their paper at the conference, if selected, in dedicated oral and poster sessions. A judging panel uses evaluation templates when selecting the preliminary finalists, finalists, and winners of the competition. The winners are announced at the closing banquet.

Applications for the New Investigator awards are now closed.

Note all grants and awards will be awarded by New Zealand Dollars cash.

For more information on ISBS awards, eligibility criteria and application procedures, please visit the ISBS website or contact us.

AUT Millennium Logo
ISBS Society Logo
Kistler Logo
Vicon Logo